
30 days pass 

 

VSF obtains possession in conjunction with a non-
consent private property or law enforcement tow. 

First Notice: VSF notifies owner and 
any applicable lienholder(s) by 

certified mail, return receipt, or 
electronic certified mail (or 
newspaper publication, if 

applicable). 

Second Notice: VSF notifies 
the owner(s) and primary 
lienholder at least 15 days 

after First Notice. 

 

Vehicle can be sold at public 
sale to the highest bidder if 
the charges remain unpaid. 

Purchaser files title 
application with county tax 

assessor-collector. 

Application includes: 

1) Form 130-U 
2) Form VTR-265-VSF 
3) Title and Registration Verification 
4) Proof of Notifications 
5) Liability Insurance 
6) Out of State Vehicles (if applicable): 

a. Texas Vehicle Inspection Report 
b. Weight Certificate (Commercial Vehicle) 

Detailed explanation of procedures and requirements can be found in the TxDMV Motor Vehicle Title Manual or on page 2 of Form VTR-265-VSF. 

VSF notifies law 
enforcement the vehicle has 

been abandoned.  
(Proof of notification required.) 

Law Enforcement must be 
notified on or after the 11th 
day after the claimant makes 
the First Notice. However, if 
this notice is made on or after 
the 18th day after the First 
Notice, no storage fees can be 
assessed but the foreclosure 
can be processed. 

 

Notice must be made: 

• Within 5 days of obtaining possession 
if registered in Texas 

• Within 14 days of obtaining 
possession if registered out-of-state 

 

Law enforcement sends notice 
within 10 days. 

 
Vehicle may be sold at public sale on or after 
the 31st day after the Second Notice or Law 
Enforcement Notice, whichever is later. 
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